Loading... please wait
albertoi 220x220 - Alberto Ibargüen

Alberto Ibargüen

President, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Bio Current as of June 23, 2022

Alberto Ibargüen is president of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. The foundation promotes a more effective democracy in the United States through initiatives that support informed and engaged communities through grants in support of free expression, journalism, community engagement, arts and culture in community and research into the impact of media on trust and democracy. Ibargüen is the former publisher of The Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald. During his tenure, The Miami Herald won three Pulitzer Prizes and El Nuevo Herald won Spain’s Ortega y Gasset Prize for excellence in Spanish language journalism. For his work to protect journalists in Latin America, he received a Maria Moors Cabot citation from Columbia University.

He holds honorary degrees from several universities, including Wesleyan University and The George Washington University, is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and a member of the American Philosophical Society. He graduated from Wesleyan University and the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He served in the Peace Corps in Venezuela’s Amazon Territory and in Colombia. He practiced law in Hartford, Connecticut, until he joined the Hartford Courant, then Newsday in New York, before moving to Miami. He serves on the boards of the Paley Center for Media and the National Museum of the American Latino. He previously chaired the boards of PBS, the Newseum in Washington DC, the Florida Philharmonic Orchestra and the World Wide Web Foundation, founded by Web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee.

He has served on the boards of other organizations, including Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Wesleyan University, Smith College, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Knight First Amendment Institute at Columbia University and ProPublica. He was a member of the boards of directors of PepsiCo, American Airlines, AOL and Norwegian Cruise Lines.